Picture of Shri Mataji Nirmala Devi

The founder of Sahaja Yoga,
Shri Mataji Nirmala Devi
who had an innate knowledge of the
Chakra system
+ Kundalini energy and
made this knowledge accessible to everyone.


Kundaline a Sanskrit word meaning,
‘three and a half coils’

Even the ancient Greeks Knew about the Kundaline energy


Shri Mataji Nirmala Devi describes the Kundalini energy as the reflection of the Adi Shakti (Adi=Primordial and Shakti=feminine power of ‘God Almighty’, western terminology or Shiva in Hindu terminology. In the Christian religion this feminine energy was referred to as the Holy Ghost, an unseen power that acts on the world and within ourselves. Hence we have many references from the various scriptures as to awakening the power within. When the Kundalini is awakened, the qualities of the chakras start to manifest spontaneously and express themselves in our life. Thus, through regular meditation, we become automatically very dynamic, creative, confident and at the same time humble, loving and compassionate. It is a process which starts to develop by itself when the Kundalini rises and starts to nourish our chakras.

To keep it simple, we can say  there are  seven main chakras or plexuses, each one has several functions, the 1st to keep us in physical balance, emotional balance and spiritual balance. These qualities are present within all of us, sometimes the Chakras may not be manifesting the true quality but never-the-less through meditation, diet and simple exercise these can be brought back into balance.

Inside every human being there is a network of nerves and sensory organs that interprets the outside physical world. At the same time, within us resides a subtle system of channels (nadis) and centre’s of energy (chakras) which look after our physical, intellectual, emotional and spiritual being.